Paul Henman formula1 Bahrain Grand Prix – Qualifying

Bahrain Grand Prix – Qualifying

I didn’t see Qualifying before I saw the race, but I’ll back-date my notes so they appear in the right order.

Qualifying 1 (Q1)
Pit lane lights turn green and the first car on track is Di Grassi for Virgin
Di Grassi posts 2:02.131 for the first provisional pole of the 2010 season
Alonso (Ferrari) 1:55.972
(Button 1:56.130)
(Hamilton 1:5.976)
Rosberg goes P2 … not that it matters too much – everyone just wants to avoid the bottom 7 spots
(Schumacher P8)
5mins gone = 10mins left of Q1
Rosberg 1:55.463
Massa 1:55.313
(Vettel P2)
Halfway through Q1 – only Webber yet to set a time
(Webber goes P3 on his first flying lap)
5mins left; bottom 7 are Kobayashi, Trulli, Glock, Kovalainen, di Grassi, Senna & Chandhok
MW runs wide just as goes fastest in Sector 2 … but still takes P1 with a 1:55.298
SV 1:55.029
(New driver Petrov goes P9)
FA 1:54.612
(Sutil P3)
Chequered flag marks the end of Q1
Kobayashi jumps to P15
So the back of the grid will be: P18=Alguersuari; 19=Glock; 20=Trulli; 21=Kovalainen; 22=Di Grassi; 23=Senna; 24=Chandok.

Qualifying 2 (Q2)
Vettel & Buemi are first out of the pit lane
SV 1:54.035
4mins left of Q2; in the “knockout zone” (as the FIA call it) are Button, Liuzzi, Hulkenberg, de la Rosa, Kobayashi, Petrov & Buemi
3mins left – long queue of cars leaving the pit lane for 1 flying lap each
Chequered flag with almost everyone on a flier
JB scrapes P10, relegating former teammate RB
Mid-grid will be: P11=Barrichello; 12=Liuzzi; 13=Hulkenberg; 14=de la Rosa; 15=Buemi; 16=Kobayashi; 17= Petrov.

Qualifying 3 (Q3)
Battling for the front of the grid are: Alonso, Button, Hamilton, Kubica, Massa, Rosberg, Schumacher, Sutil, Vettel, Webber.
The top 10 cars will start on the same tyres (not just the same compound) as they use in Q3
FM 1:55.131
FA 1:55.072
(LH 1:56.828 for P3)
The pit lane is busy as everyone prepares for a final (or for 6 of them, only) flying lap
(AS P3)
Chequered flag ends the session
SV 1:54.101
(MW P4)
(FM P2)
(LH P4)
(FA P3)
(JB P7)
(MS P7)
So the front of the grid is: P1=Vettel; 2=Massa; 3=Alonso; 4=Hamilton; 5=Rosberg; 6=Webber; 7=Schumacher; 8=Button; 9=Kubica; 10=Sutil.

The provisional grid:

  1. Sebastian Vettel (Red Bull Racing)
  2. Felipa Massa (Ferrari)
  3. Fernando Alsonso (Ferrari)
  4. Lewis Hamilton (McLaren-Mercedes)
  5. Nico Rosberg (Mercedes GP)
  6. Mark Webber (Red Bull Racing)
  7. Michael Schumacher (Mercedes GP)
  8. Jenson Button (McLaren-Mercedes)
  9. Robert Kubica (Renault)
  10. Adrian Sutil (Force India)
  11. Rubens Barrichello (Williams)
  12. Vitantonio Liuzzi (Force India)
  13. Nico Hülkenberg (Williams)
  14. Pedro de la Rosa (BMW Sauber Ferrari)
  15. Sebastien Buemi (STR-Ferrari)
  16. Kamui Kobayashi (BMW Sauber Ferrari)
  17. Vitaly Petrov (Renault)
  18. Jaime Alguersuari (STR-Ferrari)
  19. Timo Glock (Virgin Cosworth)
  20. Jarno Trulli (Lotus)
  21. Heikki Kovalainen (Lotus)
  22. Lucas di Grassi (Virgin Cosworth)
  23. Bruno Senna (HRT Cosworth)
  24. Karun Chandhok (HRT Cosworth)

Related Post