Grand Prix of Britain – Race

July 5, 2015 by · 2 Comments
Filed under: formula1 

It’s not as windy as it was in Qualifying so it’s looking like it’s going to be another great British Grand Prix.


NAS had to be pushed to the grid – hopefully not a problem which will prevent him starting the race.
BBC pre-race grid walk find NAS in the Sauber garage but no-one wants to say what the problem is. So NAS will start from the pit lane.

Another warbler butchering the national anthem – where (why) do they find these singers? :(

Air temperature 19°C; track 32°C; wind 18km/h; humidity 52%; partly cloudy

NAS’ car has been covered up, so he won’t be racing after all.

HAM leads everyone else away on the formation lap
VES is the only one starting on primes (hard compound tyre)
Read more

Grand Prix of Britain – Qualifying

July 4, 2015 by · 1 Comment
Filed under: formula1 

Not much in the way of news since Austria; the test session in Austria (the week after the GP) was mostly wet; Mark Smith (previously technical director with Caterham, Force India and Red Bull) will join Sauber mid-July; Manor have a new sponsor and new colour scheme. Good news for McLaren: ALO and BUT will be allowed to use an additional power unit without penalty this season following regulation changes agreed in Wednesday’s meeting of the Formula One Strategy Group. [FIA] There was also a decision not to reintroduce refuelling. Rumour that Ferrari may ditch RAI at the end of this season.

Free Practice:

  1. FP1: ROS (1:34.274), HAM, VES, RAI, SAI
    Susie Wolff finished P13 in BOT’s Williams, followed by Jolyon Palmer in GRO’s Lotus and Raffaele Marciello in ERI’s Sauber.
    ROS posts P1 then pulls off track just after Copse due to a loss of hydraulic pressure. HAM took P1 but, at the end of FP1, ROS was out to test the hydraulic fix and went P1 again.
  2. FP2: ROS (1:34.155), RAI, VET, HAM, KVY, RIC
    GRO caused the session to be suspended after he beached his Lotus in the gravel at Luffield. ALO off there too. BUT complaining of terrible stability – “the car’s bouncing all over the place”. MER follows in ALO and GRO’s footsteps, spinning off at Luffield; another brief red flag period.
  3. FP3: HAM (1:32.917), ROS, RAI, VET, VES, SAI, MAS, BOT
    ROS had a gearbox oil leak, which the Mercedes mechanics resolved; ALO’s hydraulic issue kept him in the pits. The wind at Turn 9 (Copse) was challenging with a series of cars going off there (13 cars in 14 minutes).

HAM is just 10 points ahead of his team-mate in the standings, with ROS 39 points ahead of VET. Mercedes are 136 points clear of Ferrari.

BBC point out today would have been the 55th birthday of Roland Ratzenberger, who died in practice at the 1994 San Marino Grand Prix, the day before Ayrton Senna’s death.
It’s also 61 years today since Juan Manuel Fangio claimed Mercedes’ first F1 win at the 1954 French GP.

Tyre choices: prime=hard (orange markings), option=medium (white).

Air temperature 22°C; track 36°C; wind 4.7km/h; humidity 57%; partly cloudy
It’s gusty in some of the corners; a tailwind in the pits means a crosswind in Copse.

McLaren mechanics still working on ALO’s car with 30 minutes before qualifying.
Read more

2015 F1 Standings after 8 rounds

July 2, 2015 by · 1 Comment
Filed under: formula1 

Updating with 3 rounds since the previous standings:


…here are the standings:

  Drivers points
1 HAM 169
2 ROS 159
3 VET 120
4 RAI 72
5 BOT 67
6 MAS 62
7 RIC 36
8 KVY 19
9 HUL 18
10 GRO 17
11 NAS 16
12 PER 13
13 MAL 12
14 VES 10
15 SAI 9
16 ERI 5
17 BUT 4
18= ALO, MAG, MER, STE 0
  Constructors points
1 Mercedes 328
2 Ferrari 192
3 Williams 129
4 Red Bull 55
5 Force India 31
6 Lotus 29
7 Sauber 21
8 Toro Rosso 19
9 McLaren 4
10 Manor 0

Grand Prix of Austria – Race

June 21, 2015 by · 2 Comments
Filed under: formula1 

It’s not often I agree with Bernie, but he said “I think we need to have a very, very, very good look at all our sporting regulations”; “Don’t go over the white line, don’t do this, don’t do that, if you change your engine you go back 20 places… The public don’t understand and when they do understand they don’t care.”

So the outcome of Qualifying was: HAM, ROS, VET, MAS, HUL, BOT, VES, KVY, NAS, GRO; MAL, ERI, SAI, RIC, ALO; PER, BUT, RAI, MER, STE
But then came the penalties:

  • ALO – total of 25-place grid penalties after McLaren elected to change several elements of his Honda power units. Because the full penalty cannot be applied, ALO must serve a drive-through penalty in the first three laps of the race.
  • BUT – same penalty as ALO. He also can’t take the whole penalty, so he gets a 10-second stop-go penalty at his first pit stop.
  • KVY – 10-place grid penalties for taking fifth Renault engines of the year. KVY qualified P8 so the whole penalty is applied.
  • RIC – also 10 spots but he qualified P14 so he’ll serve an additional five-second time penalty at his pit stop.

So the revised provisional grid is: HAM, ROS, VET, MAS, HUL, BOT, VES, NAS, GRO, MAL, ERI, SAI, PER, RAI, KVY, MER, STE, RIC, ALO, BUT.

Air temperature 14°C; track 27°C; humidity 44%
Local weather info says there’s a shower only ~8km away

The mechanics clear the grid; HAM leads everyone away
Only MAL, PER, RAI, RIC starting on primes (soft compound); rest of the grid on the options (super-soft)
BUT reporting the car entered forced neutral – more gearbox problems for the McLaren
Read more

Grand Prix of Austria – Qualifying

June 20, 2015 by · 3 Comments
Filed under: formula1 

Looks like it’s going to be another frustrating weekend for McLaren: ALO likely to face a huge penalty (20 grid spots) for multiple engine updates; BUT and RIC may also receive penalties for updates.

FP1: ALO’s upgraded engine cuts out and he’s pushed down the pit lane; VET lost fourth gear and parked his Ferrari; MAS avoids taking out Ferrari team boss Maurizio Arrivabene in the pit lane; radio from HAM “How many changes do you guys want me to do, can I just focus on driving?”. ROS fastest (1:10.401) then HAM, RAI, BOT and NAS.

FP2: VET (1:09.600) ahead of ROS, RAI, MAL, HAM, HUL and GRO.

FP3 was wet: ALO’s McLaren conked out on the pit straight, causing a red flag; ALO’s gearbox problem means a further 5-place grid penalty. VET (1:09.994) then HAM, RAI, PER, ROS, MAS, BOT, VER, MAL.

Tweet breaks down BUT’s 25 grid spot penalty.

It’s stopped raining and is starting to dry up before Qualifying.
Air temperature 12°C; track 21°C; wind 6.5m/s; humidity 71%; overcast; 30% chance of rain.

Qualifying session 1 (Q1) Read more

Next Page »