Paul Henman formula1 Australian Grand Prix – Qualifying

Australian Grand Prix – Qualifying

Qualifying session 1
VL rolls down the pit lane; queues at the pit exit, waiting for the lights to change, followed by his Force India teammate
VL 1:28.848
AS 1:28.031
FM on a quick lap but abandons it as he encounters traffic
VL 1:27.157
FA 1:26.162
15mins left of Q1
MW 1:25.951
FA 1:25.522
FM seems to be fighting the Ferrari
(NR P2)
BS holds up a Force India
MW 1:25.286
FA 1:25.082
10mins left
SV 1:24.774
(JB P2)
(LH P3)
5mins left
1min left; bottom 7 are VP, HK, JT, TG, LdG, KC, BS
(NR P2)
Back of the grid are: P18=VP. 19=HK, 20=JT, 21=TG, 22=LdG, 23=BS, 24=KC
Fastest was SV (1:24.774)

Qualifying session 2
Looks like it could rain soon, so everyone’s going out quickly
MW runs wide in a couple of corners
MW 1:24.797
FA 1:24.459
10mins left
MW 1:24.276
(JB P3)
As everyone else pits to prepare for their final flying laps, LH goes out to set his first time
5mins left; bottom 7 are AS, VL, KK, PdlR, NH, JA, LH
(LH P7)
LH doesn’t have time to pit for new tyres, so he’s got to improve his time on those same tyres
2mins left – LH being pushed down the chart
1min left
LH down to P11
Chequered flag
SV 1:24.096
Mid-grid will be P11=LH, 12=SB, 13=VL, 14=PdlR, 15=NH, 16=KK, 17=JA

Qualifying session 3
Battling for the top 10 grid spots are SV, MW, FA, JB, NR, MS, FM, AS, RB & RK
MW leads the queue out of the pit lane – still concerns about rain
FA 1:24.606
MW 1:24.035
(MS P3)
(NR P3)
SV 1:23.919
5mins left; order is SV, MW, FA, NR, JB, MS, RB, FM, RK, AS
Rain spots on the helicopter’s camera lens
AS finally posts a lap time with just 90secs left of Q3
Chequered flag falls to end Qualifying
Front of the grid: P1=SV, 2=MW, 3=FA, 4=JB, 5=FM, 6=NR, 7=MS, 8=RB, 9=RK, 10=AS

The provisional grid:

  1. Sebastian Vettel (Red Bull Racing)
  2. Mark Webber (Red Bull Racing)
  3. Fernando Alsonso (Ferrari)
  4. Jenson Button (McLaren-Mercedes)
  5. Felipa Massa (Ferrari)
  6. Nico Rosberg (Mercedes GP)
  7. Michael Schumacher (Mercedes GP)
  8. Rubens Barrichello (Williams)
  9. Robert Kubica (Renault)
  10. Adrian Sutil (Force India)
  11. Lewis Hamilton (McLaren-Mercedes)
  12. Sebastien Buemi (STR-Ferrari)
  13. Vitantonio Liuzzi (Force India)
  14. Pedro de la Rosa (BMW Sauber Ferrari)
  15. Nico Hülkenberg (Williams)
  16. Kamui Kobayashi (BMW Sauber Ferrari)
  17. Jaime Alguersuari (STR-Ferrari)
  18. Vitaly Petrov (Renault)
  19. Heikki Kovalainen (Lotus)
  20. Jarno Trulli (Lotus
  21. Timo Glock (Virgin Cosworth)
  22. Lucas di Grassi (Virgin Cosworth)
  23. Bruno Senna (HRT Cosworth)
  24. Karun Chandhok (HRT Cosworth)

Related Post