Paul Henman formula1 Thinking about next season already

Thinking about next season already

It’s not even a month since the Abu Dhabi Grand Prix when Sebastian Vettel won the Drivers’ World Championship (Red Bull-Renault has already won the Constructors’ Championship) but the official entry list for the 2011 Formula One season is already firming up.

Then again, the “silly season” (drivers’ contract negotiations) started a lot earlier this year so a lot of the seats were assigned before the end of the season.

  1. Sebastian Vettel (Ger) Red Bull-Renault
  2. Mark Webber (Aus) Red Bull-Renault
  3. Lewis Hamilton (GB) McLaren-Mercedes
  4. Jenson Button (GB) McLaren-Mercedes
  5. Fernando Alonso (Spa) Ferrari
  6. Felipe Massa (Brz) Ferrari
  7. Michael Schumacher (Ger) Mercedes
  8. Nico Rosberg (Ger) Mercedes
  9. Robert Kubica (Pol) Renault
  10. TBC Renault
  11. Rubens Barrichello (Brz) Williams-Cosworth
  12. Pastor Maldonado (Ven) Williams-Cosworth
  13. N/A
  14. TBC Force India-Mercedes
  15. TBC Force India-Mercedes
  16. Kamui Kobayashi (Jpn) Sauber-Ferrari
  17. Sergio Perez Mendoza (Mex) Sauber-Ferrari
  18. TBC Toro Rosso-Ferrari
  19. TBC Toro Rosso-Ferrari
  20. Jarno Trulli (Ita) Lotus-Renault
  21. Heikki Kovalainen (Fin) Lotus-Renault
  22. TBC Hispania-Cosworth
  23. TBC Hispania-Cosworth
  24. Timo Glock* (Ger) Virgin-Cosworth
    * Glock is not listed on the official FIA entry list, but he and Virgin insist he will be driving for them
  25. TBC Virgin-Cosworth

[sources: BBC and FIA]

The race calendar has also been published:

  1. Mar 11-13 Bahrain (Sakhir)
  2. Mar 25-27 Australia (Melbourne)
  3. Apr 08-10 Malaysia (Kuala Lumpur)
  4. Apr 15-17 China (Shanghai)
  5. May 06-08 Turkey (Istanbul)
  6. May 20-22 Spain (Catalunya)
  7. May 26-29* Monaco (Monte Carlo)
    *Monaco Grand Prix weekend starts on Thursday but there’s no racing on Friday
  8. Jun 10-12 Canada (Montreal)
  9. Jun 24-26 Europe (Valencia)
  10. Jul 08-10 Great Britain (Silverstone)
  11. Jul 22-24 Germany (Nürburgring)
  12. Jul 29-31 Hungary (Budapest)
  13. Aug 26-28 Belgium (Spa-Francorchamps)
  14. Sep 09-11 Italy (Monza)
  15. Sep 23-25 Singapore (Singapore)
  16. Oct 07-09 Japan (Suzuka)
  17. Oct 14-16 Korea (Yeongam)
  18. Oct 28-30 India (New Delhi)*
    *Subject to circuit approval
  19. Nov 11-13 Abu Dhabi (Yas Marina Circuit)
  20. Nov 25-27 Brazil (Sao Paulo)

[source: FIA]

2 thoughts on “Thinking about next season already”

  1. Eek! “Red Bull’s Mark Webber was driving with a broken shoulder for the final four races of the season, it has emerged.” [source: BBC]

  2. Pay attention because this is confusing: the team called Lotus Racing in 2010 will be called Team Lotus in 2011; meanwhile the (2010) Renault team will become Lotus Renault, although they’ll still be known as Renault to avoid the need to obtain approval from all the other teams. Yeah, that’s not going to be a source of amusement next season as the commentators repeatedly get it wrong. 🙂
    [source: BBC]

Comments are closed.

Related Post