Paul Henman formula1 Counting down the hours to the start of the 2009 Formula One season

Counting down the hours to the start of the 2009 Formula One season

Finally, the time is almost upon us! The 2009 Formula One season starts this week. At last!

I’ve been remiss: I haven’t posted the calendar or team lists yet, so here they are. These are correct at the time of posting, but things change even during the season 🙂


1 Australian GP Melbourne Grand Prix Circuit Melbourne, Victoria 29 March
2 Malaysian GP Sepang International Circuit Kuala Lumpur 5 April
3 Chinese GP Shanghai International Circuit Shanghai 19 April
4 Bahrain GP Bahrain International Circuit Sakhir, Manama 26 April
5 Spanish GP Circuit de Catalunya Barcelona 10 May
6 Monaco GP Circuit de Monaco Monte Carlo 24 May*
7 Turkish GP Istanbul Park Istanbul 7 June
8 British GP Silverstone Circuit Silverstone 21 June
9 German GP Nürburgring Nürburg 12 July
10 Hungarian GP Hungaroring Budapest 26 July
11 European GP Valencia Street Circuit Valencia 23 August
12 Belgian GP Circuit de Spa-Francorchamps Spa 30 August
13 Italian GP Autodromo Nazionale Monza Monza 13 September
14 Singapore GP Marina Bay Street Circuit Singapore 27 September
15 Japanese GP Suzuka Circuit Suzuka 4 October
16 Brazilian GP Autódromo José Carlos Pace São Paulo 18 October
17 Abu Dhabi GP Yas Marina Circuit Abu Dhabi 1 November

* Remember that traditionally there’s no Friday sessions at Monaco – the first practice session is on Thursday May 21st.

Teams and Drivers:

McLaren Mercedes 01: Lewis Hamilton (GB) 02: Heikki Kovalainen (FIN)
Ferrari 03: Felipe Massa (BR) 04: Kimi Raikkonen (FIN)
BMW Sauber 05: Robert Kubica (POL) 06: Nick Heidfeld (DE)
Renault 07: Fernando Alonso (ESP) 08: Nelson Piquet Jr (BR)
Toyota 09: Jarno Trulli (ITA) 10: Timo Glock (DE)
STR (Scuderia Toro Rosso) Ferrari 11: Sebastien Bourdais (FRA) 12: Sebastien Buemi (CH)
Red Bull Renault 14: Mark Webber (AUS) 15: Sebastian Vettel (DE)
Williams Toyota 16: Nico Rosberg (DE) 17: Kazuki Nakajima (JAP)
Force India Mercedes 18: Adrian Sutil (DE) 19: Giancarlo Fisichella (ITA)
Brawn Mercedes* 20: Jenson Button (GB) 21: Rubens Barrichello (BR)

* Ross Brawn (and friends) have taken over the Honda team.

Updates: Drivers table updated to add nationality and car numbers.

Related Post